News nr. 23 | September/October 2011
Print | Send
 | Voltar
2011 Nobel Prize for Medicine awarded to three scientists for discoveries on the immune system

André Silva
Editorial Team 


In 2011, the Nobel Foundation has granted the prestigious award in the category of medicine jointly to scientists Bruce A. Beutler, from the US, and Jules A. Hoffmann, from France, for their findings on the activation of innate immunity, and to Canadian scientist Ralph M. Steinman for his discovery of the dendritic cells and their role in adaptive immunity. 

“This year’s winners of the Nobel Prize have revolutionized our understanding of the immune system through the discovery of key principles for its activation”, is written on the page of the Nobel Foundation. 

The Nobel Prize is undoubtedly the most prestigious prize awarded in science, a recognition which started with its founder and has been consolidated throughout the 20th century. It comes with a financial prize of 10 million Swedish crowns, which is approximately 1.1 million Euros. The award of the Swedish Academy confers laureates, for whom it often represents the corollary of a long scientific career, enormous prestige and it even influences the paths taken in scientific research. 

Unfortunately, Ralph M. Steinman died shortly before his name was announced as one of the winners of the Nobel Prize for Medicine in 2011. The Foundation, which does not give the award posthumously, upheld its decision, and Steinman’s part of the prize will go to his family. 

Homepage of the Nobel Foundation


Search all of the published newsletters



Subscribe our Newsletter and receive all the updated information about activities, news, events and other FMUL activities



Prof. Doutor J. Fernandes e Fernandes
Editorial Commitee: Prof. Doutor J. Fernandes e Fernandes, Prof. Doutor Alexandre Ribeiro, Prof. Doutor António Vaz Carneiro, Prof. Doutor João Ferreira, Dr. Luis Pereira
Information Officer: Ana Raquel Moreira
Editorial Team: Ana Maria Silva, Ana Raquel Moreira, André Silva, Lara Ponte, Miguel Andrade, Rui Gomes, Sónia Barroso, Susana Henriques, Tânia Simões
Collaboration: Communication and Image Office - Ana Isabel Gonçalves da Silva, Bruno Moura
Design and Technical Support: UTI 
Design and development: Spirituc